Shasta Golf

Wow what a weekend!  Both the golf courses we played this weekend were fantastic.  Very well kept and very challenging.

Friday Sept 2:  I got picked up at about 5:30 am by my friend and his father.  We headed up the road toward Mt. Shasta.  The first excitement came when we were just north of Sacramento.  A driver entered the freeway and began changing lanes over to the fast lane.  We were in the furthest left lane of the freeway when he came in behind us and proceeded to go into what he must have thought to be another lane to the left.  My friends father was driving and saw the whole thing happening.  He changed lanes and accelerated to the right hand lanes as he saw the driver slam into the center divider and began to spin.  We avoided being caught up in the accident but not by much.  Good thing our driver was paying attention.  After that the drive was much easier.  We went to the breakfast joint and watched several other people in our group roll in.  Breakfast was pretty good and we finished and proceed to Shasta to check into the Hotel.  We got two rooms that had a sweet in between so we could open the door inside our rooms and connect them into one big room.  It was a very nice room and the people at the Woodsman resort were very nice.  We arrived at Lake Shastina Golf Course at around 11 am and got our groups together for the round.  I played the first round with Coach and John the organizer of the event and another man they knew well.  The golf course was great; too bad my game was not.  I think I lost about six balls and shot a 136.  Not good but for me on a course I have never played before it was pretty good.  We would have played much faster but Bobo was in front of us and we had to wait.  We had a good time though and Coach gave me plenty of pointers.

Saturday Sept 27:  We woke up early to meet for breakfast.  The local dinner was ok not the best breakfast in the world but a good solid base to start the day.  We played in a four person scramble tournament for the benefit of the local high schools Jazz Program.  There were probably 60 people participating in the scramble and more than half were from our group.  The director of the event made sure to tell John he would like us back again next year for their event.  I played with my friend and his father and a friend of his father’s.  We had a good time and shot ok we finished one under but that was I think the worst score of the event.  My friend and his dad were the best golfer in our group the other guy was worse than me. Most of the drives came from my friend’s father, he really carried us.  The golf course was Mt Shasta Resort, and it was a different and more challenging course for me than the one yesterday.  Lots of tree and lots of hazards combined with my great skills to help me loose about five balls, and this is in a scramble when I am not even playing my own shots.  I had some good hits (mostly on trees) and really enjoyed the time with my boys. 

Sunday Sept 28:  Another early day for me and the boys.  My Friend and his dad did not stay to play Sunday instead they headed back to Folsom.  I moved my stuff over into Coach’s car and got ready to leave right after golf.  We had breakfast at the same little dinner again and went out to Mt. Shasta Golf Course for another tournament, this time playing our own balls.  I played with another group of local Folsom guys on Sunday.  These guys are all pretty good at golf so I was a little nervous that I might mess up their game with my awfulness. One of the guys gave me some new golf balls in exchange for an item I had won the day before in the Raffle which was cool to me because I need some more balls to lose.  I played pretty well not that my score of 143 would show that, but it was a good day and I had some really good holes.  I even drove it on the green on one par three.  That of course is what most people do, but I am not most people.  One of the guys was helping line up my shot, when another said “Your sending him left of the green.”  To which he replied I am playing his slice.  As a blind guy it helps me a lot to have some line me up and even better if they know how I am hitting it.  Coach of course tells me I should learn how to not slice the ball.  Oh well. 

I am not sure when I will play again but hopefully soon. 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

